Vehicle stats

Any and all discussion about Dark Conspiracy, the RPG of modern conspiracy horror
ReHerakhte
Darkling
Location: Australia, west coast. Hiding in the ceiling, waiting for the aliens...

Vehicle stats

Post by ReHerakhte »

I'm trying to stat out some new vehicles for DC and I'm at a bit of an impasse. So okay, my maths are crap, it was my worst subject at school but I can't see my poor maths explaining the vehicle stats in DC for Fuel Consumption as relates to Cruise Speed.

It's easy enough to figure the stats for a realworld vehicle because you can get the real figures for fuel capacity, fuel consumption and maximum range and work it backwards to give the game stats but for the fictional vehicles in DC, there is no maximum range given so I can't apply that formula.

Maybe I'm doing this all arse-about-face so I'm asking everyone here if they think the stats are bad or if I'm a complete newb and I have fundamentally screwed it up.

The game gives the following stats for vehicles...
Cruise Speed: Travel movement in kilometres travelled in one hour*
Fuel Capacity: The capacity of the fuel tank in litres
Fuel Consumption: Number of litres of fuel consumed in one hour
* the second edition just says that it is travel movement but the original book , pg 108, specifically states that Cruise Speed "... is how many kilometres the vehicle can effectively travel per hour..."

Therefore if a vehicle has the following stats (I'm thinking of you Mazda Firefly...)
Cruise Speed: 110
Fuel Cap: 100
Fuel Cons: 6
This would mean the vehicle can travel up to 110km in one hour while using 6 litres of fuel in the process. The tank holds 100 litres, therefore the vehicle has 16.6 hours of travel on one full tank (100 litre tank divided by the 6 litres per hour consumption).